New BTracks

Facebook

Author Topic: Hello From Granada Hills --- San Fernando Valley/Los Angeles  (Read 2534 times)

Big Daddy James

• View Profile
Hello From Granada Hills --- San Fernando Valley/Los Angeles
« on: December 09, 2017, 03:07:39 AM »
Hello there,

I haven't started a video yet so I know I'm coming a bit late to the party this being December and the Jam ending in February. My name is James....

How long have you been playing harmonica?
Roughly about 5 years....roughly being the keyword. As in, playing the instrument roughly and doing it for approximately 5 years give or take a few months.

Do you consider yourself a beginner, amateur, or pro?
I think I'm a beginateur --- Advanced beginner maybe --- If this is the first time you've picked up a harmonica you might mistake me for a beginning/intermediate

Do you play any other instruments?
a million years ago I dabbled with a guitar

Have you been in any bands?
Not once, ever

Of all instruments, why play harmonica?
There's no way to say this without sounding cliché or cheesy or both but.....it sings to me. It calls to me in a way no other instrument does. It's an incredibly unique instrument. It is the only wind instrument in the world where you can make sounds/tones breathing in as well as breathing out; all other (wind) instruments require you to exhale in order to make sounds. No other instrument has as much expression in such a compact form (fits in your pocket). Hopefully this doesn't sound too jingoistic (look it up....I had to....it's a great word) but I love art forms that are inherently American. Blues and Jazz would fall into this category. All other art forms (painting, sculpture, ballet...it can all be traced back to Europe or the far east) modern day tap dancing would fall into this category as well...of which I am also a practitioner of. Albeit, in a body 100 LBS. smaller 15 years ago. But blues and jazz did not exist before Americans invented them. African-Americans I might add.