New BTracks

Facebook

Author Topic: Budget mics  (Read 2652 times)

KiLL-A-HertZ

• View Profile
Budget mics
« on: March 06, 2016, 02:23:34 PM »
Well after the last topic ... I started to get interested in trying different micing and mixing options.  I got a mixer pretty cheap, but now i need some good mics.  Mostly all the mics I have are Hi Z .....  I was a sound tech for quite a few years when i was younger, so i know what alot of the workhorse mics are and am familiar with the new stuff.  But they are a lil out of my price range. I cant exactly afford 3 or 4 $100 mics.

So im looking to get a few good instrument mics.  To mic the amps, mic the room, etc.

I have a pyle sm57 copy.  It works pretty well,  but i was thinking that maybe there are some vintage mics that are high quality, but can be had cheap on ebay for example.

Something similar to the sm57 or sanheiser MD 421, etc. 
Maybe some type of boom mic for micing the room.  Like an overhead drum mic.

Also would like a condenser for clean vocals and clean harp recording.  But the instrument mics are what im really looking for. 

So ... Any suggestions?  High Quality ... Low Price Point? 

Matt

• View Profile
Re: Budget mics
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2016, 04:44:27 PM »
Vintage mics typically are not high quality by today's standards of technology. You should be able to find something like a 3-pack of instrument mics from a lesser brand, otherwise the Shure copies aren't too bad these days.

But perhaps something like this will be good for your needs:

*A pack of drum mics will also do the job (micing amps etc).

A cheap condenser will still probably set you back around $100, but shop around and you might do better on price.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2016, 04:49:59 PM by Matt »

KiLL-A-HertZ

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2016, 05:54:19 PM »
Hmm.  Thanks for the advice.  I figured maybe i could get something good on the cheap.   Maybe ill try the behringers.

KiLL-A-HertZ

• View Profile