New BTracks

Facebook

Author Topic: Fender Blues Deville 60W  (Read 2862 times)

Matt

• View Profile
Fender Blues Deville 60W
« on: March 20, 2015, 11:27:37 PM »
I thought it might be helpful to somebody sooner or later to know a bit about this amp and it's use for harmonica.
I've been gigging solidly with this amp for five years and know the nature of the beast, so to speak. As my main amp, the 4 x 10 configuration is adaptable to a wide variety of venues and stages. Having a massive 60W of power is handy too, but also a handicap in some ways. The Blues Deville is cheaper than a Bassman and has a lot more bite, but it is hard to take full advantage of it as this amp is so very loud that it simply can't be cranked right up without killing every living thing within four miles.
It is a heavy amp, heavier than the Bassman, and it will sooner or later hurt you in some way.

Preamp Tube Swap
In its standard configuration off the shelf it is a great guitar amp with plenty of range and that legendary Fender sparkle. Playing intensity effects how this amp barks, even more so with harp than with guitar. Very nice.
Feedback is a problem right from the start. I have swapped out the preamp tubes (12AX7) with a pair of 12AY7, and this has helped to tame the feedback and the overall output as well, and I would recommend this setup to anybody who is thinking of using the Deville for harmonica. This allows me to raise the volume (feed more juice to the power amp tubes) before feedback occurs. Working the power amp tubes harder means I'm getting closer to the sweet spot and earlier, warmer break-up. A 12AY7 has a gain factor of about 40, compared to a 12AX7 which sits around 90(+).